Buncombe County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:33:58+00:00

Buncombe County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Buncombe County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 5, 1791 from Burke County and Rutherford County. This county was named for Edward Buncombe, a Revolutionary soldier, who was wounded and captured at the Battle of Germantown, and died a paroled prisoner in Philadelphia. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Buncombe County is bordered by Madison County (north), Yancey County (northeast), McDowell County (east), Rutherford County (southeast), Henderson County (south), Haywood County (west).

Buncombe County Cities and Towns include Asheville, Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Montreat, Weaverville, Woodfin. A Map of Buncombe County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Buncombe County Townships include Asheville, Avery Creek, Black Mountain, Broad River, Fairview, Flat Creek, French Broad, Ivy, Leicester, Limestone, Lower Hominy, Reems Creek, Sandy Mush, Swannanoa, and Upper Hominy. View a Map of Buncombe County Townships.

Buncombe County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Buncombe County, North Carolina Courthouse
Buncombe County, NC Courthouse

The Buncombe County Courthouse is located in Asheville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Buncombe county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Buncombe County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1830 and 1865 by fire, 1800 and 1893 by fire, some early records were destroyed.

  • Buncombe County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1887, Marriage Records from 1842, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1791. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Buncombe County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1815, Court Records from 1790 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Buncombe County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Buncombe Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Buncombe County, North Carolina Census Records

Buncombe County, North Carolina Vital Records

Buncombe County, North Carolina Resources

Buncombe County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records