Yancey County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:50:35+00:00

Yancey County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Yancey County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1833 from Buncombe and Burke. This county was named for Bartlett Yancey (1785–1828), a United States Congressman, Speaker of the North Carolina Senate, and early advocate for the North Carolina Public School System . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Yancey County is bordered by Mitchell County (northeast), McDowell County (southeast), Buncombe County (southwest), Madison County (west), Unicoi County, Tennessee (northwest) .

Yancey County Cities and Towns include Burnsville, Green Mountain, Swiss. A Map of Yancey County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Yancey County Townships include Brush Creek, Burnsville, Cane River, Crabtree, Egypt, Green Mountain, Jacks Creek, Pensacola, Price's Creek, Ramseytown, and South Toe. View a Map of Yancey County Townships.

Yancey County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Yancey County, North Carolina Courthouse
Yancey County, NC Courthouse

Old Yancey County Courthouse

The Yancey County Courthouse is located in Burnsville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Yancey county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Yancey County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Yancey County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1851, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1831. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Yancey County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1838, Court Records from 1834 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Yancey County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Yancey Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Yancey County, North Carolina Census Records

Yancey County, North Carolina Vital Records

Yancey County, North Carolina Resources

Yancey County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records