Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:31:32+00:00

Mitchell County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Mitchell County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on February 16, 1861 from Yancey County, Watauga County, Caldwell County, Burke County and McDowell County. This county was named for Elisha Mitchell (1793–1857), a professor at the University of North Carolina who measured the height of Mount Mitchell. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Mitchell County is bordered by Carter County, Tennessee (north), east), Avery County (northeast), McDowell County (south), Yancey County (southwest), Unicoi County, Tennessee (northwest).

Mitchell County Cities and Towns include Bakersville, SprucePine. A Map of Mitchell County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mitchell County Townships include Bakersville, Bradshaw, Cane Creek, Fork Mountain-Little Rock Creek (previously two separate townships), Grassy Creek, Harrell, Poplar, Red Hill, and Snow Creek. View a Map of Mitchell County Townships.

Mitchell County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Mitchell County, North Carolina Courthouse
Mitchell County, NC Courthouse

Old Mitchell County Courthouse

The Mitchell County Courthouse is located in Bakersville, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mitchell county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Mitchell County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Some County Courthouse records destroyed in move to new courthouse in 1907, some early recordsd were destroyed.

  • Mitchell County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1861, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1789. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Mitchell County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1823, Court Records from 1861 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Mitchell County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Mitchell Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Mitchell County, North Carolina Census Records

Mitchell County, North Carolina Vital Records

Mitchell County, North Carolina Resources

Mitchell County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records