Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:48:33+00:00

Watauga County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Watauga County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1849 from Ashe County, Caldwell County, Wilkes County and Yancey County. This county was named for the Watauga River, which came from a Native American word meaning "beautiful water" . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Watauga County is bordered by Ashe County (northeast), Wilkes County (east), Caldwell County (south), Avery County (southwest), Johnson County, Tennessee (northwest).

Watauga County Cities and Towns include Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock, Boone, Seven Devils, Deep Gap, Sugar Grove, Valle Crucis, Zionville. A Map of Watauga County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Watauga County Townships include Bald Mountain, Beaverdam, Blowing Rock, Blue Ridge, Boone, Brushy Fork, Cove Creek, Elk, Laurel Creek, Meat Camp, New River, North Fork, Shawneehaw, Stony Fork, and Watauga. View a Map of Watauga County Townships.

Watauga County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Watauga County, North Carolina Courthouse
Watauga County, NC Courthouse

The Watauga County Courthouse is located in Boone, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Watauga county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Watauga County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1873 by fire, some early records were destroyed and fragmented .

  • Watauga County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1873, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1830. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Watauga County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1858, Court Records from 1873 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Watauga County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Watauga Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Watauga County, North Carolina Census Records

Watauga County, North Carolina Vital Records

Watauga County, North Carolina Resources

Watauga County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records