Ashe County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:31:59+00:00

Ashe County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Ashe County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on November 18, 1799 from Wilkes County. This county was named for Samuel Ashe (1725–1813), a Revolutionary patriot, superior court judge, and governor of North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Ashe County is bordered by Grayson County, Virginia (north), Alleghany County (east), Wilkes County (southeast), Watauga County (southwest), Johnson County Tennessee (west).

Ashe County Cities and Towns include Jefferson, Lansing, West Jefferson. A Map of Ashe County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Ashe County Townships include Chestnut Hill, Clifton, Creston, Crumpler, Elk, Grassy Creek, Helton, Horse Creek, Hurricane, Laurel Springs, North Fork, Obids, Old Fields, Peak Creek, Pine Swamp, Piney Creek, Pond Mountain, Todd, Walnut Hill, and Warrensville. Civil townships - Lansing, Jefferson, West Jefferson. View a Map of Ashe County Townships.

Ashe County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Ashe County, North Carolina Courthouse
Ashe County, NC Courthouse

Old Ashe County Courthouse

The Ashe County Courthouse is located in Jefferson, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Ashe county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Ashe County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. Courthouse was destroyed in 1865, records fragmented.

  • Ashe County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1828, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1778. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Ashe County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1801, Court Records from 1805 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Ashe County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Ashe Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Ashe County, North Carolina Census Records

Ashe County, North Carolina Vital Records

Ashe County, North Carolina Resources

Ashe County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records