Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:31:20+00:00

Alleghany County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Alleghany County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1859 from Ashe County. This county was named for a corruption of the Delaware Indian name for the Allegheny and Ohio Rivers and is said to have meant "a fine stream" . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Alleghany County is bordered by Grayson County, Virginia (north), Surry County (east), Wilkes County (south) and Ashe County (west).

Alleghany County Cities and Towns include Sparta. A Map of Alleghany County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Alleghany County Townships include Cherry Lane, Cranberry, Gap Civil, Glade Creek, Piney Creek, Prathers Creek, and Whitehead. View a Map of Alleghany County Townships.

Alleghany County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Alleghany County, North Carolina Courthouse
Alleghany County, NC Courthouse

The Alleghany County Courthouse is located in Sparta, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Alleghany county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Alleghany County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Alleghany County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1914, Marriage Records from 1861, Death Records from 1914 and Land Records from 1859. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Alleghany County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1859, Court Records from 1862 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Alleghany County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Alleghany Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Alleghany County, North Carolina Census Records

Alleghany County, North Carolina Vital Records

Alleghany County, North Carolina Resources

Alleghany County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records