Madison County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:07:41+00:00

Madison County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Madison County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on January 27, 1851 from Buncombe County and Yancey County. This county was named for James Madison (1751–1836), the 4th President of the United States . Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Madison County is bordered by Greene County, Tennessee (north), Unicoi County, Tennessee (north), east), Yancey County (east), Buncombe County (south), Haywood County (southwest), Cocke County, Tennessee (west).

Madison County Cities and Towns include Hot Springs, MarsHill, Marshall.

Madison County Townships are both numbered and named and include: 1 (North Marshall and South Marshall), 2 (Laurel), 3 (Mars Hill), 4 (Beech Glenn), 5 (Walnut), 6 (Hot Springs), 7 (Ebbs Chapel), 8 (Spring Creek), 9 (Sandy Mush), 10 (Grapevine), and 11 (Revere Rice Cove). Formerly there were sixteen: 1 (Marshall), 2 (Shelton Laurel), 3 (Bull Creek), 4 (Middle Fork of Ivy), 5 (West Fork of Ivy), 6 (Sandy Mush), 7 (Little Pine Creek), 8 (Spring Creek), 9 (Hot Springs), 10 (Big Laurel), 11 (Upper Laurel), 12 (Big Pine Creek), 13 (Meadow Fork of Spring Creek), 14 (Grapevine), 15 (Mars Hill), and 16 (Foster Creek) . View a Map of Madison County Townships.

Madison County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Madison County, North Carolina Courthouse
Madison County, NC Courthouse

The Madison County Courthouse is located in Marshall, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Madison county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Madison County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Madison County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1851, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1851. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Madison County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1851, Court Records from 1837 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Madison County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Madison Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Madison County, North Carolina Census Records

Madison County, North Carolina Vital Records

Madison County, North Carolina Resources

Madison County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records