Marshall County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:46:38+00:00

Marshall County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Marshall County, Alabama (Map It) was created on January 9, 1836 from Jackson County and Blount County and Cherokee Cession of 1836. Marshall county was named in honor of John Marshall (1755–1835), Chief Justice of the United States 1801–1835. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Marshall County is bordered by Jackson County (northeast), DeKalb County (east), Etowah County (southeast), Blount County (south), Cullman County (southwest), Morgan County (west), Madison County (northwest).

Marshall County Cities and Towns include Albertville, Arab, Boaz, Douglas, Grant, Horton, Guntersville, Union Grove.

A Map of Marshall County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Marshall County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Marshall County, Alabama Courthouse
Marshall County, AL Courthouse

The Marshall County Courthouse is located in Guntersville, Alabama. The County Seat was established in 1836 at Claysville, moved to Marshall in 1838, to Warrenton in 1841, and finally located at Guntersville in 1848. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marshall county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Marshall County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Marshall County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1843 and Land Records from 1836. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Marshall County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Marshall County Health Department has Birth Records from  N/A, Death records from  N/A.

Marshall County, Alabama Census Records

Marshall County, Alabama Vital Records

Marshall County, Alabama Resources

Marshall County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records