Madison County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:45:43+00:00

Madison County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Madison County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 13, 1808 from the Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1806 (Additional land was added until the county achieved its current form in 1824). Madison county was named in honor of James Madison (1751–1836), 4th U.S. President. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Madison County is bordered by Lincoln County, Tennessee (north), Franklin County, Tennessee (northeast), Jackson County (east), Marshall County (southeast), Morgan County (southwest), Limestone County (west).

Madison County Cities and Towns include Gurley, Harvest, Hazel Green, Huntsville, Madison, Meridianville, Moores Mill, New Hope, New Market, Owens Cross Roads, Redstone Arsenal, Triana, Toney.

A Map of Madison County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Madison County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Madison County, Alabama Courthouse
Madison County, AL Courthouse

The Madison County Courthouse is located in Huntsville, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Madison county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Madison County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1808 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Madison County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1809, Probate Records from 1818 and Land Records from 1810. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Madison County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Madison County Health Department has Birth Records from 1881 , Death records from 1881.

Madison County, Alabama Census Records

Madison County, Alabama Vital Records

Madison County, Alabama Resources

Madison County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records