Limestone County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:44:12+00:00

Limestone County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Limestone County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 6, 1818 from lands ceeded in the Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1806 and 1816. It was formed from land comprising Elk County that was created on May 24, 1817. Limestone county was named for the creek which flows through it, whose bed is of hard limestone.. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Limestone County is bordered by Giles County, Tennessee (north), Lincoln County, Tennessee (northeast), Madison County (east), Morgan County (southeast), Lawrence County (southwest), Lauderdale County (west).

Limestone County Cities and Towns include Ardmore, Athens, Belle Mina, Decatur, Elkmont, Huntsville, Lester, Madison, Mooresville, Tanner.

A Map of Limestone County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Limestone County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Limestone County, Alabama Courthouse
Limestone County, AL Courthouse

The Limestone County Courthouse is located in Athens, Alabama. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1862. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Limestone county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Limestone County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1881 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Limestone County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1832, Probate Records from 1881 and Land Records from 1881. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Limestone County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Limestone County Health Department has Birth Records from 1881 , Death records from 1881.

Limestone County, Alabama Census Records

Limestone County, Alabama Vital Records

Limestone County, Alabama Resources

Limestone County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records