DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:38:04+00:00

DeKalb County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

DeKalb County, Alabama (Map It) was created on  January 9, 1836 from land ceded to the Federal government by the Cherokee Nation. DeKalb county was named in honor of Johann de Kalb (1721–1780), major general in American Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of Alabama History

DeKalb County is bordered by Jackson County (north), Dade County, Georgia (northeast), Walker County, Georgia (east), Chattooga County, Georgia (east), Cherokee County (southeast), Etowah County (south), Marshall County (west).

DeKalb County Cities and Towns include Collinsville, Crossville, Fort Payne, Fyffe, Geraldine, Hammondville, Henagar, Ider, Lakeview, Mentone, Pine Ridge, Powell, Rainsville, Sand Rock, Shiloh, Sylvania, Valley Head.

A Map of DeKalb County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

DeKalb County, Alabama Courthouse Records

DeKalb County, Alabama Courthouse
DeKalb County, AL Courthouse

The DeKalb County Courthouse is located in Fort Payne, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in DeKalb county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • DeKalb County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1836 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • DeKalb County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1836 and Land Records from 1836. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • DeKalb Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • DeKalb County Health Department has Birth and Death Records from 1885.

DeKalb County, Alabama Census Records

DeKalb County, Alabama Vital Records

DeKalb County, Alabama Resources

DeKalb County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records