Cherokee County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:33:24+00:00

Cherokee County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Cherokee County, Alabama (Map It) was created on January 9, 1836 from the Creek Cession of 1835. Cherokee county was named for the Cherokee Indians, who ceded the land that now comprises the county to the Federal government by the treaty of New Echota, December 29, 1835. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Cherokee County is bordered by DeKalb County (north), Chattooga County, Georgia (northeast), Floyd County, Georgia (east), Polk County, Georgia (southeast), Cleburne County (south), Calhoun County (south), Etowah County (west)

Cherokee County Cities and Towns include Cedar Bluff, Centre (County seat), Collinsville, Gaylesville, Leesburg, Piedmont, Sand Rock.

A Map of Cherokee County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Cherokee County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Cherokee County, Alabama Courthouse
Cherokee County, AL Courthouse

The Cherokee County Courthouse is located in Centre, Alabama. For the first ten years, the residents of Cherokee County quarrelled over the location of a county seat. In 1837, the AL legislature authorized the seat of county government to be established at Cedar Bluff. In 1844 an election was held and the county seat was moved to the town of Centre. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1882 and 1895. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cherokee county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Cherokee County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1882 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Cherokee County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1882, Probate Records from 1882 and Land Records from 1882. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Cherokee County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Cherokee County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908, Death record from 1908.

Cherokee County, Alabama Census Records

Cherokee County, Alabama Vital Records

Cherokee County, Alabama Resources

Cherokee County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records