Cleburne County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:34:52+00:00

Cleburne County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Cleburne County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 6, 1866 from territory formerly contained in Calhoun County, Randolph County and Talladega County. Cleburne county was named in honor of Patrick Ronayne Cleburne, a Confederate Major General. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Cleburne County is bordered by Cherokee County (north), Polk County, Georgia (northeast), Haralson County, Georgia (east), Carroll County, Georgia (southeast), Randolph County (south), Clay County (southwest), Talladega County (southwest), Calhoun County (west)

Cleburne County Cities and Towns include Edwardsville, Fruithurst, Heflin, Ranburne, Hollis Crossroads.

A Map of Cleburne County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Cleburne County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Cleburne County, Alabama Courthouse
Cleburne County, AL Courthouse

The Cleburne County Courthouse is located in Heflin, Alabama. The County Seat was established at Edwardsville in 1867, and moved to Heflin in 1906. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cleburne county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Cleburne County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Cleburne County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Land Records from 1867. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Cleburne County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Cleburne County Health Department has Birth and Death Records from 1908.

Cleburne County, Alabama Census Records

Cleburne County, Alabama Vital Records

Cleburne County, Alabama Resources

Cleburne County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records