Calhoun County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:32:52+00:00

Calhoun County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Calhoun County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 18,1832 from ceded Creek Indian Territory in the Creek Cession of 1832 (originally named Benton County in honor of Thomas Hart Benton. On January 29, 1858, the name was changed to Calhoun County). Calhoun county was named in honor of John C. Calhoun of South Carolina. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Calhoun County is bordered by Cherokee County (northeast), Cleburne County (east), Talladega County (south), St. Clair County (west), Etowah County (northwest)

Calhoun County Cities and Towns include Alexandria, Anniston, Blue Mountain, Bynum, Choccolocco, Eastaboga, Hobson City, Jacksonville, Pleasant Valley, Minden, Ohatchee, Oxford, Piedmont, Saks, Weaver, Webster's Chapel, Wellington, West End-Cobb Town.

A Map of Calhoun County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Calhoun County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, Alabama Courthouse
Calhoun County, AL Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in Anniston, Alabama. The County Seat was originally established in Jacksonville in 1833. The county seat was moved to Anniston in 1899. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1861 and 1895. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Calhoun county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Calhoun County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1891 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1834, Probate Records from 1850 and Land Records from 1832. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Calhoun County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Calhoun County Health Department has Birth Records from 1919 , Death records from 1919.

Calhoun County, Alabama Census Records

Calhoun County, Alabama Vital Records

Calhoun County, Alabama Resources

Calhoun County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records