Etowah County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:38:59+00:00

Etowah County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Etowah County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 7, 1866 and was formed from Blount County, Calhoun County, Cherokee County, Dekalb County, Marshall County, and St. Clair County. Originally named Baine County, it abolished on December 1, 1868 by the Constitutional Convention and re-established on the same day, under the name of Etowah. Etowah county was named for Baine County in honor of Gen. David W. Baine, a Confederate soldier from Lowndes County. Etowah County, which is from the Cherokee language. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Etowah County is bordered by DeKalb County (north), Cherokee County (east), Calhoun County (southeast), St. Clair County (southwest), Blount County (west), Marshall County (northwest).

Etowah County Cities and Towns include Altoona, Attalla, Boaz, Gadsden, Gallant (unincorporated), Glencoe, Hokes Bluff, Mountainboro, Ohatchee, Rainbow City, Reece City, Ridgeville, Sardis City, Southside, Walnut Grove.

A Map of Etowah County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Etowah County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Etowah County, Alabama Courthouse
Etowah County, AL Courthouse

The Etowah County Courthouse is located in Gadsden, Alabama which as named after Col. James Gadsden, distinguished soldier, diplomat, and railroad president. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Etowah county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Etowah County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1867 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Etowah County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Land Records from 1867. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Etowah Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Etowah County Health Department has Birth Records from 1894 , Daeth records from 1898.

Etowah County, Alabama Census Records

Etowah County, Alabama Vital Records

Etowah County, Alabama Resources

Etowah County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records