Blount County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:31:59+00:00

Blount County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Blount County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 6, 1818 by the Alabama Territorial legislature, from Montgomery County and land ceded to the Federal government by the Creek Nation on Aug. 9, 1814. Blount county was named in honor of Gov. Willie G. Blount of Tennessee, who provided assistance to settlers in Alabama during the Creek War of 1813-14. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Blount County is bordered by Marshall County (northeast), Etowah County (east), St. Clair County (southeast), Walkery County (southwest), Jefferson County (south), Cullman County (west & northwest)

Blount County Cities and Towns include Allgood, Altoona, Blountsville, Cleveland, County Line, Garden City, Hayden, Highland Lake, Locust Fork, Nectar, Oneonta, Rosa, Smoke Rise, Snead, Susan Moore, Warrior.

A Map of Blount County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Blount County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Blount County, Alabama Courthouse
Blount County, AL Courthouse

The Blount County Courthouse is located in Oneonta, Alabama. Blountsville was the county seat until 1889, when it was moved to its current location in Oneonta. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Blount county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Blount County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1829-1852/1872 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Blount County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1820, Probate Records from 1829 and Land Records from 1818. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Blount County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Blount County Health Department has Birth Records from 1905, Death records from 1905.

Blount County, Alabama Census Records

Blount County, Alabama Vital Records

Blount County, Alabama Resources

Blount County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records