Wayne County, Missouri Genealogy Guide2016-06-20T22:33:29+00:00

Wayne County, Missouri Genealogy Guide

Wayne County, Missouri (Map It) was created on December 11, 1818 from Cape Girardeau County and Lawrence County. The county was named in honor of Anthony Wayne (1745–1796), United States Army general and statesman . Learn More About State of Missouri History

Wayne County is bordered by Madison County (north), Bollinger County (east), Stoddard County (southeast), Butler County (south), Carter County (southwest), Reynolds County (west), Iron County (northwest).

Wayne County Cities and Towns include Cascade, Clubb, Coldwater, Greenville, Hiram, Leeper, Lodi, Lowndes, McGee, Mill Spring, Patterson, Piedmont, Shook, Silva, Wappapello, Williamsville.

A Map of Wayne County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wayne County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Wayne County, Missouri Courthouse
Wayne County, MO Courthouse

The Wayne County Courthouse is located in Greenville, Missouri. Courthouse burned in 1853 or 1854, destroying all records. The records in the courthouse were stolen in 1866. Courthouse damaged by fire December 14, 1892, some records destroyed. Few official county records prior to 1893 survive. Learn More About State of Missouri Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wayne county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Wayne County Recorder of Deeds has Marriage Records from 1892 and Land Records from 1849. The Recorder of Deeds is the place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept on file. They take marriage license applications, issues marriage licenses, files the license after the marriage, and maintains a permanent record of the marriage, surveys and plats of subdivisions, Armed Forces discharge papers for all veterans who reside in the county. Some naturalization records have been found with the deeds.
  • Wayne County Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1869  and Court & Divorce Records from 1893.The Circuit Court Clerk / Probate Court Clerk has the direct index to records such as divorces, adoptions, judgment, and tax fee books including direct and indirect indexes. They also retain the index to criminal records and criminal files of the circuit court. Adoptions are under the jurisdiction of the circuit court. Naturalization records, including petitions, declarations of intention, certificates, and certificates of allegiance, and granting of citizenship are also located in the clerk's office, as well as an index to civil case files. The County Probate Division has jurisdiction over the estates of deceased persons. The Division hears all litigation involving trusts, including those trusts established in wills.
  • Wayne County Clerk of the Court
    • Birth & Death Records: ?
  • Wayne County Tax Assessor Office is responsible for appraising and assessing real estate property and person property for the purpose of taxation as well as transferring ownership of real estate, and keeping real estate maps up to date.
  • Local Records Inventory Database, produced by the Missouri Local Records Preservation Program, is a compilation of inventories of local government records identified as having permanent or enduring value and housed primarily in county and municipal offices, but includes some libraries, museums, and historical and genealogical societies that maintain government records. Not all Missouri offices have been inventoried.
  • Wayne County Health Department has Birth Certificates since 1920 and Death Certificates since 1980

Wayne County, Missouri Census Records

Wayne County, Missouri Vital Records

Wayne County, Missouri Resources

Wayne County, Missouri External Links

Search Millions of Military Records