Franklin County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T16:20:36+00:00

Franklin County, Virginia Records

Franklin County, Virginia (Map It) was created in November 29, 1785 from Bedford County and Henry County . Franklin county was named for Benjamin Franklin, publisher, orator, scholar, and U.S. Founding Father ..

Franklin County is bordered by Bedford County (northeast), Pittsylvania County (southeast), Henry County (south), Patrick County (southwest), Floyd County (west), Roanoke County (northwest).

Franklin County Cities and Towns include Boones Mill, Ferrum, North Shore, Penhook, Rocky Mount, Union Hall, and Westlake Corner.

Franklin County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Franklin County, VA Courthouse
Franklin County, VA Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Franklin County's first court was held 1786 in a log courthouse. The log courthouse was replaced in 1831. In 1836 the town consisted of 30 home and a number of business houses. The town was incorporated in 1873 and the present courthouse was built in 1908.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Franklin County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Franklin County, Virginia Census Records

Franklin County, Virginia Vital Records

Franklin County, Virginia Resources

Franklin County, Virginia External Links