Bedford County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T15:47:16+00:00

Bedford County, Virginia Records

Bedford County, Virginia (Map It) was created in December 13, 1753 and was formed from Lunenburg County. Part of Albemarle County was added in 1754 and part of Lunenberg County was added later. Parts of Bedford Co was used to form Campbell County (1782) and Franklin County (1786). Bedford county was named for John Russell, 4th Duke of Bedford, British politician and one of the head negotiators of the Peace of Paris..

Bedford County is bordered by Rockbridge County (north), Amherst County (northeast), Lynchburg (east), Campbell County (southeast), Pittsylvania County (south), Franklin County (southwest), Roanoke County (west), Botetourt County (northwest).

Bedford County Cities and Towns include Forest, New London, Huddleston, Moneta, Montvale, Thaxton, Goode and Big Island .

Bedford County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Bedford County, VA Courthouse
Bedford County, VA Courthouse

The Bedford County Courthouse is located in Bedford, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Bedford County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Bedford County, Virginia Census Records

Bedford County, Virginia Vital Records

Bedford County, Virginia Resources

Bedford County, Virginia External Links