Mercer County, New Jersey Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T19:03:36+00:00

Mercer County, New Jersey Genealogy Guide

Mercer County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on February 22, 1838 from Burlington County, Hunterdon County, Middlesex County, and Somerset County. The county was named in honor of Continental Army General Hugh Mercer (1726–1777), who died at the Battle of Princeton. Learn More About State of New Jersey History

Mercer County is bordered by Somerset County (north), Middlesex County (northeast), Monmouth County (east), Burlington County (south), Bucks County, Pennsylvania (west), Hunterdon County (northwest).

Mercer County Cities and Towns include Trenton. Communities include Grover's Mill, Lawrenceville, Mercerville-Hamilton Square, Princeton Junction, Princeton North, Robbinsville, Titusville, Twin Rivers, White Horse, Windsor, Yardville-Groveville.

Mercer County Townships include East Windsor, Ewing, Hamilton, Hopewell, Lawrence, Princeton, Washington, West Windsor. Boroughs include Hightstown, Hopewell, Pennington, Princeton.

A Map of Mercer County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mercer County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

Mercer County, NJ Courthouse

The Mercer County Courthouse is located in Trenton, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mercer county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Mercer County Clerk has Land Records from 1838 Where two years appear, the first refers to mortgages, the second to deeds. and Marriage Records from 1838. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Mercer CountySurrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1838 Where two years are given, the first is the date when orphans' court minutes begin, the second when surrogates' records and files begin .. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Mercer County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Mercer County, New Jersey Census Records

Mercer County, New Jersey Vital Records

Mercer County, New Jersey Resources

Mercer County, New Jersey External Links

Search Millions of Military Records