Middlesex County, New Jersey Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T19:03:58+00:00

Middlesex County, New Jersey Genealogy Guide

Middlesex County, New Jersey (Map It) was created on March 1, 1683 as one of four original counties created in East Jersey. The county was named for the former county of Middlesex in England . Learn More About State of New Jersey History

Middlesex County is bordered by Union County (north), Monmouth County (southeast), Mercer County (southwest), Somerset County (northwest), Richmond County (Staten Island), New York (northeast).

Middlesex County Cities and Towns include New Brunswick, Perth Amboy, South Amboy. Communities include Avenel, Browntown, Brownville, Clearbrook Park, Colonia, Concordia, Dayton, Deans, Fords, Heathcote, Hopelawn, Iselin, Keasbey, Kendall Park, Kingston, Laurence Harbor, Madison Park, Menlo Park Terrace, Monmouth Junction, Old Bridge CDP, Parlin, Plainsboro Center, Port Reading, Princeton Meadows, Raritan Landing, Rossmoor, Sewaren, Society Hill, Whittingham. Historic houses Buccleuch Mansion, Cornelius Low House, Henry Guest House, James Buckelew Mansion, Joyce Kilmer House, Metlar/Bodine House.

Middlesex County Townships include Cranbury, East Brunswick, Edison, Monroe, North Brunswick, Old Bridge, Piscataway, Plainsboro, South Brunswick, Woodbridge. Boroughs include Carteret, Dunellen, Helmetta, Highland Park, Jamesburg, Metuchen, Middlesex, Milltown, Sayreville, South Plainfield, South River, Spotswood.

A Map of Middlesex County, New Jersey contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Middlesex County, New Jersey Courthouse Records

Middlesex County, NJ Courthouse

The Middlesex County Courthouse is located in New Brunswick, New Jersey. Learn More About State of New Jersey Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Middlesex county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Middlesex County Clerk has Land Records from 1766 mortgages / 1785 deeds and Marriage Records from 1683. The County Clerk is responsible for land records, including deeds and mortgages, naturalizations, marriages (usually 1795-1840s), and various county court records. A few original county justice of the peace dockets are at the New Jersey State Archives.
  • Middlesex CountySurrogate Court / Orphan's Court has Probate Records from 1786 orphans' court minutes / 1804 surrogates' records. The County Surrogate Court / Orphan's Court probates Wills, appoints Administrators, appoints Guardians for minors, handles applications for Adult Incapacitated Persons, Conservatorships, Adoptions, contested Probate matters, Accountings, Trusts and most other matters involving Estates.
  • Middlesex County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • New Jersey Department of Health has copies of Birth, Marriage and Death records from 1878 to the present. There is a fee for each copy requested. Birth, marriage, and death records are connected with central life events.

Middlesex County, New Jersey Census Records

Middlesex County, New Jersey Vital Records

Middlesex County, New Jersey Resources

Middlesex County, New Jersey External Links

Search Millions of Military Records