Washington County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:52:01+00:00

Washington County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Washington County, Alabama (Map It) was created on June 4, 1800 as a county of the Mississippi Territory. Its area originally contained 26,400 square miles. The area of Washington County was later divided into 16 Mississippi counties and 29 Alabama counties. Washington county was named in honor of George Washington (1732–1799), 1st U.S. President. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Washington County is bordered by Choctaw County (north), Clarke County (east), Baldwin County (southeast), Mobile County (south), Greene County, Mississippi (southwest), Wayne County, Mississippi (northwest).

Washington County Cities and Towns include Chatom, Deer Park, Fruitdale, Leroy, Saint Stephens, Wagarville, McIntosh, Millry, Vinegar Bend, Tibbie, Hobson.

A Map of Washington County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Washington County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Washington County, Alabama Courthouse
Washington County, AL Courthouse

The Washington County Courthouse is located in Chatom, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Washington county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Washington County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Washington County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1802, Probate Records from 1820 and Land Records from 1796. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Washington County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Washington County Health Department has Birth Records from 1908, Death records from 1908.

Washington County, Alabama Census Records

Washington County, Alabama Vital Records

Washington County, Alabama Resources

Washington County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records