Choctaw County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:34:01+00:00

Choctaw County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Choctaw County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 29, 1847 from Sumter County and Washington County. Choctaw county was named for the Choctaw Indians, one of the four Indian groups that occupied what is now the State of Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Choctaw County is bordered by Sumter County (north), Marengo County (northeast), Clarke County (southeast), Washington County (south), Wayne County, Mississippi (southwest), Clarke County, Mississippi (west), Lauderdale County, Mississippi (northwest)

Choctaw County Cities and Towns include Butler, Gilbertown, Lisman, Needham, Pennington, Silas, Toxey.

A Map of Choctaw County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Choctaw County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Choctaw County, Alabama Courthouse
Choctaw County, AL Courthouse

The Choctaw County Courthouse is located in Butler, Alabama. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Choctaw county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Choctaw County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1871 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Choctaw County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1871, Probate Records from 1873 and Land Records from 1873. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Choctaw County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Choctaw County Health Department has Birth Records from Delayed birth Cert. Rec. 1870-1900, Death records from 1881-1893.

Choctaw County, Alabama Census Records

Choctaw County, Alabama Vital Records

Choctaw County, Alabama Resources

Choctaw County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records