Marengo County, Alabama Genealogy Guide2016-07-08T17:46:00+00:00

Marengo County, Alabama Genealogy Guide

Marengo County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 6, 1818 from land acquired from the Choctaw Indians by the treaty of Oct. 24, 1816.. Marengo county was named for Napoleon's great victory at Marengo over the Austrian armies on June 14, 1800. Learn More About State of Alabama History

Marengo County is bordered by Hale County (north), Perry County (northeast), Dallas County (east), Wilcox County (southeast), Clarke County (south), Choctaw County (southwest), Sumter County (northwest), Greene County (north-northwest).

Marengo County Cities and Towns include Demopolis, Linden, Dayton, Faunsdale, Myrtlewood, Providence, Sweet Water, Thomaston.

A Map of Marengo County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. See also Old Maps of Alabama

Marengo County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Marengo County, Alabama Courthouse
Marengo County, AL Courthouse

The Marengo County Courthouse is located in Linden, Alabama. The County Seat was originally known as "Town of Marengo." In 1823 the name was changed to Linden, a shortened version of "Hohenlinden," scene of a French victory in Bavaria in 1800. Courthouse fires occurred in 1848 and 1965. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1848 and 1965. Learn More About State of Alabama Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marengo county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Marengo County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1819 and has Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Marengo County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1818, Probate Records from 1818 and Land Records from 1820. The County Clerk of Probate Court maintains following records in the probate office: Plats, Maps, Judgments, Liens, Deeds, Mortgages, Corporations, Lis pendens, Marriage licenses, Military discharges. The Probate Judge presides over all probate court hearings for Probate of Wills, Administrations, Conservators, Guardianships, Adoptions, Legitimations, Name changes, Condemnations, Mental Commitment hearings, and performs marriage ceremonies. The office of the probate judge is the county office where the most significant genealogical records are created and maintained in Alabama. A variety of records are housed in this office.
  • Marengo County Revenue Commissioner's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Marengo County Health Department has Birth Records from 1881, Death records from 1906.

Marengo County, Alabama Census Records

Marengo County, Alabama Vital Records

Marengo County, Alabama Resources

Marengo County, Alabama External Links

Search Millions of Military Records