Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T16:36:31+00:00

Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy Guide

Montgomery County, Virginia (Map It) was created in 1775 from Fincastle County, Part of Botetourt County was added in 1789 and part of Pulaski County was added in 1842. Montgomery county was named for the Richard Montgomery, Revolutionary War general.. Learn More About State of Virginia History

Montgomery County is bordered by Craig County (north), Floyd County (south), Giles County (northwest), Pulaski County (southwest), and Roanoke County (east).

Montgomery County Cities and Towns include Blacksburg, Christiansburg, Alleghany Springs, Cambria, Childress, Ellett, Elliston-Lafayette, Graysontown, Ironto, Long Shop, Lusters Gate, Merrimac, McCoy, McDonalds Mill, Pilot, Prices Fork, Riner, Rogers, Shawsville, Sugar Grove, Vicker,Walton, Tom's Creek and Yellow Sulphur Springs.

Montgomery County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, VA Courthouse
Montgomery County, VA Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Christiansburg, Virginia. Learn More About State of Virginia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH .  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Montgomery County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records. Includes records of Augusta County(1750-72) and Fincastle County (1772-76) .

  • Montgomery County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1773, Land Records from 1750, Court Records from 1773 and Probate Records from 1753. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Montgomery County (VA) Treasurer
  • Montgomery County Commissioner of the Revenue
  • Montgomery County Health Department
  • County and City Research in Virginia Guides and Indexes County and city records document the daily activities of the courts in Virginia's counties, independent cities, and towns. The Library of Virginia houses both original and microfilm records for many of Virginia's counties and independent cities. The guides list will help researchers navigate the complex variety of county and city records in the Library's collections. It includes County and City Records at the Library of Virginia, Using County and City Court Records, Chancery Cases, Judgments, Lost Records Localities database and Burned Jurisdiction database.

Montgomery County, Virginia Census Records

Montgomery County, Virginia Vital Records

Montgomery County, Virginia Resources

Montgomery County, Virginia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records