Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T15:44:21+00:00

Augusta County, Virginia Records

Augusta County, Virginia (Map It) was created in December 15, 1738 and was formed from Orange County. Augusta county was named for Augusta of Saxe-Gotha, the Princess of Wales..

Augusta County is bordered by Pendleton County, West Virginia (north), Rockingham County (northeast), Albemarle County (east), Nelson County (southeast), Rockbridge County (southwest), Bath County (west), Highland County (northwest).

Augusta County Cities and Towns include Craigsville, Grottoes (partial). The Independent City of Staunton and Independent City of Waynesboro (incorporated as such in 1902 and 1948 respectively) are located within the boundaries of Augusta County, but are not a part of the county .

Augusta County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Augusta County, VA Courthouse
Augusta County, VA Courthouse

The Augusta County Courthouse is located in Staunton, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Augusta County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records. Authorized in 1738, but the government was not formed until 1745. See Montgomery County for Earlier records

Augusta County, Virginia Census Records

Augusta County, Virginia Vital Records

Augusta County, Virginia Resources

Augusta County, Virginia External Links