Nelson County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T16:37:13+00:00

Nelson County, Virginia Records

Nelson County, Virginia (Map It) was created in December 23, 1807 from Amherst County . Nelson county was named for Thomas Nelson Jr., governor of Virginia and signer of the Declaration of Independence..

Nelson County is bordered by Augusta County (northwest), Albemarle County (northeast), Buckingham County (southeast), Appomattox County (south), Amherst County (southwest), Rockbridge County (west).

Nelson County Cities and Towns include no cities or incorporated towns in Nelson County. Unincorporated communities include but are not limited to Afton, Arrington, Bryant, Lovingston, Massies Mill, Montebello, Nellysford, Roseland, Schuyler, Shipman, Wingina, Gladstone, Tyro .

Nelson County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Nelson County, VA Courthouse
Nelson County, VA Courthouse

The Nelson County Courthouse is located in Lovingston, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Nelson County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Nelson County, Virginia Census Records

Nelson County, Virginia Vital Records

Nelson County, Virginia Resources

Nelson County, Virginia External Links