Stokes County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T19:45:26+00:00

Stokes County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Stokes County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on 1789 from Surry County. This county was named for John Stokes, a soldier of the Revolution who was seriously wounded at the Waxhaw massacre. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Stokes County is bordered by Patrick County, Virginia (north), Henry County, Virginia (northeast), Rockingham County ( east), Forsyth County (south), Surry County (west).

Stokes County Cities and Towns include Danbury, King, Walnut Cove, Aarons Corner, Asbury, Boyles Chapel, Brook Cove, Brown Mountain, Campbell, Capella, Ceramic, Chestnut Grove, Collinstown, Dalton, Delta, Dillard, Dodgetown, Flat Rock, Flat Shoals, Francisco, Gap, Germanton, Hartman, Lawsonville, Meadows, Moores Springs, Mountain View, Mount Olive, Neatman, Oak Ridge, PineHall, Pinnacle, Poplar Springs, Prestonville, Quaker Gap, Rosebud, Sandy Ridge, Volunteer. A Map of Stokes County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Stokes County Townships include Beaver Island, Big Creek, Danbury, Meadows, Peters Creek, Quaker Gap, Sauratown, Snow Creek, & Yadkin. View a Map of Stokes County Townships.

Stokes County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Stokes County, North Carolina Courthouse
Stokes County, NC Courthouse

Old Stokes County Courthouse

The Stokes County Courthouse is located in Danbury, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Stokes county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Stokes County Records in the North Carolina State Archives.

  • Stokes County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1913, Marriage Records from 1790, Death Records from 1913 and Land Records from 1760. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Stokes County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1753, Court Records from 1782 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Stokes County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Stokes Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Stokes County, North Carolina Census Records

Stokes County, North Carolina Vital Records

Stokes County, North Carolina Resources

Stokes County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records