Lincoln County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:50:55+00:00

Lincoln County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Lincoln County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on January 16, 1869 from Socorro County. The county was named in honor of Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United States. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Lincoln County is bordered by Torrancel County (north), Guadalupe County (north), De Baca County (northeast), Chaves County (east), Otero County (south), Sierra County (southwest), Socorro County (west).

Lincoln County Cities and Towns include Carrizozo.

Lincoln County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Lincoln County, New Mexico Courthouse
Lincoln County, NM Courthouse

The Lincoln County Courthouse is located in Carrizozo, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lincoln county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. (Rio Bonito, formerly called Los Placitas then Lincoln, 1869–70) County clerk has complete indexes for all records.

  • Lincoln County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1882, Land Records from 1869 and Probate Records from 1881. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Lincoln County 12th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Lincoln County, New Mexico Census Records

Lincoln County, New Mexico Vital Records

Lincoln County, New Mexico Resources

Lincoln County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records