Chaves County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:46:37+00:00

Chaves County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Chaves County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on February 25, 1889 from Lincoln County. The county was named in honor of Jose Francisco Chaves, a U.S. Army colonel in New Mexico during and after the Civil War. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Chaves County is bordered by De Baca County (north), Roosevelt County (northeast), Lea County (east), Eddy County (south), Otero County (southwest), Lincoln County (west).

Chaves County Cities and Towns include Dexter, Hagerman, Lake Arthur, Roswell.

Chaves County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Chaves County, New Mexico Courthouse
Chaves County, NM Courthouse

The Chaves County Courthouse is located in Roswell, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chaves county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Chaves County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1891, Land Records from 1887 and Probate Records from 1900. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Chaves County District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Chaves County, New Mexico Census Records

  • Learn More: State of New Mexico Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territorial Population Schedules: 1885
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Chaves County, New Mexico Vital Records

Chaves County, New Mexico Resources

Chaves County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records