Roosevelt County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:53:37+00:00

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Roosevelt County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on February 28, 1903 from Chaves County and Guadalupe County. The county was named in honor of Theodore Roosevelt, the twenty-sixth president of the United States. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Roosevelt County is bordered by Curry County (north), Quay County (north), De Baca County (west), Chaves County (west), Lea County (south), Cochran County, Texas , Bailey County, Texas (east).

Roosevelt County Cities and Towns include Portales, Elida.

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Courthouse
Roosevelt County, NM Courthouse

The Roosevelt County Courthouse is located in Portales, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Roosevelt county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Roosevelt County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1903, Land Records from 1892 and Probate Records from 1903. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Roosevelt County 9th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Census Records

  • Learn More: State of New Mexico Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territorial Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Vital Records

Roosevelt County, New Mexico Resources

Roosevelt County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records