Torrance County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide2016-06-15T18:56:21+00:00

Torrance County, New Mexico Genealogy Guide

Torrance County, New Mexico (Map It) was created on March 16, 1903 from Bernalillo County and Valencia County. The county was named in honor of Francis J. Torrance, the developer of the New Mexico Central Railroad. Learn More About State of New Mexico History

Torrance County is bordered by Santa Fe County (north), San Miguel County (north), Guadalupe County (east), Lincoln County (south), Socorro County (south), Valencial County (west), Bernalillo County (northwest).

Torrance County Cities and Towns include Moriarty, Estancia, Mountainair, Willard.

Torrance County, New Mexico Courthouse Records

Torrance County, New Mexico Courthouse
Torrance County, NM Courthouse

The Torrance County Courthouse is located in Estancia, New Mexico. Learn More About State of New Mexico Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Torrance county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Torrance County Clerks office has Marriage Records from 1910, Land Records from 1910 and Probate Records from 1909. The County Clerks office has land records, including deeds, mining records, surveys, and plats; marriage records; and some probate records. Also Military discharges, liens, mortgages, powers of attorney, and miscellaneous affidavits may be found there.
  • Torrance County 7th District Court Clerk has many responsibilities which include courts of general jurisdiction, including probate and divorce, actions, as well as jury trials.

Torrance County, New Mexico Census Records

  • Learn More: State of New Mexico Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territorial Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: None
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: None
  • Union Veterans Schedules: None

Torrance County, New Mexico Vital Records

Torrance County, New Mexico Resources

Torrance County, New Mexico External Links

Search Millions of Military Records