Smyth County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T16:47:04+00:00

Smyth County, Virginia Genealogy Guide

Smyth County, Virginia (Map It) was created in February 23, 1832 from Wythe County and Washington County. Smyth county was named for Alexander Smyth, Congressman from Virginia.. Learn More About State of Virginia History

Smyth County is bordered by Russell County (northwest), Tazewell County (north), Bland County (northeast), Wythe County (east), Grayson County (south), Washington County (southwest).

Smyth County Cities and Towns include Adwolf, Atkins, Chilhowie, Marion, Saltville and Sugar Grove .

Smyth County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Smyth County, VA Courthouse
Smyth County, VA Courthouse

The Smyth County Courthouse is located in Marion, Virginia. The courthouse was built in 1834. Frank P. Lowbern was the architect. J.E. Parish was the builder in 1900. Learn More About State of Virginia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH .  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Smyth County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

  • Smyth County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1832, Land Records from 1832, Court Records from 1832 and Probate Records from 1832. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Smyth County (VA) Treasurer
  • Smyth County Commissioner of Revenue
  • Smyth County Health Department, 201 Francis Marion Lane, Marion, VA 24354; Phone: (276) 781-7460
  • County and City Research in Virginia Guides and Indexes County and city records document the daily activities of the courts in Virginia's counties, independent cities, and towns. The Library of Virginia houses both original and microfilm records for many of Virginia's counties and independent cities. The guides list will help researchers navigate the complex variety of county and city records in the Library's collections. It includes County and City Records at the Library of Virginia, Using County and City Court Records, Chancery Cases, Judgments, Lost Records Localities database and Burned Jurisdiction database.

Smyth County, Virginia Census Records

Smyth County, Virginia Vital Records

Smyth County, Virginia Resources

Smyth County, Virginia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records