Fairfax County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T15:58:01+00:00

Fairfax County, Virginia Records

Fairfax County, Virginia (Map It) was created in May 24, 1742 from Prince William County . Fairfax county was named for Thomas Fairfax, 6th Lord Fairfax of Cameron, the only resident British noble in Virginia ..

Fairfax County is bordered by Loudoun County (northwest), Prince William County (southwest), Arlington County (east), Charles County, Maryland (south), Prince George's County, Maryland (southeast), Montgomery County, Maryland (north).

Fairfax County Cities and Towns include Annandale, Bailey's Crossroads, Belle Haven, Burke, Centreville, Chantilly, Dunn Loring, Fort Belvoir, Fort Hunt, Franconia, Great Falls, Groveton, Huntington, Hybla Valley, Idylwood, Jefferson, Lake Barcroft, Lincolnia, Lorton, Mantua, McLean, Merrifiel, Mount Vernon, Newington, North Springfield, Oakton, Pimmit Hills, Reston, Rose Hill, Seven Corners, Springfield, Tysons Corner, West Springfield and Wolf Trap.

Fairfax County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Fairfax County, VA Courthouse
Fairfax County, VA Courthouse

Old Fairfax County, VA Courthouse
Old Fairfax County, VA Courthouse

The Fairfax County Courthouse is located in Fairfax, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Fairfax County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Original wills and deeds as well as many other loose papers were destroyed during the Civil War; deed books for twenty-six of the fifty-six years between 1763 and 1819 are missing.

Fairfax County, Virginia Census Records

Fairfax County, Virginia Vital Records

Fairfax County, Virginia Resources

Fairfax County, Virginia External Links