Alleghany County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T15:41:54+00:00

Alleghany County, Virginia Records

Alleghany County, Virginia (Map It) was created in January 05, 1822 and was formed from  Bath County, Botetout County and Monroe County, West Virginia in 1822, additional parts of Bath County (1823) and Monroe County, West Virginia (1843) were added . Alleghany county was named for the Alleghany Mountains.

Alleghany County is bordered by Bath County (north), Rockbridge County (east), Botetourt County (southeast), Craig County (south), Monroe County, West Virginia (southwest), Greenbrier County, West Virginia (west).

Alleghany County Cities and Towns include Covington, Clifton Forge, Iron Gate, Low Moor and Selma.

Alleghany County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Allegheny County, VA Courthouse
Allegheny County, VA Courthouse

The Alleghany County Courthouse is located in Covington, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Alleghany County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Alleghany County, Virginia Census Records

Alleghany County, Virginia Vital Records

Alleghany County, Virginia Resources

Alleghany County, Virginia External Links