Accomack County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T15:40:57+00:00

Accomack County, Virginia Records

Accomack County, Virginia (Map It) was created in 1663 as one of the original eight shires established in 1634. One of the original eight shires established in 1634. It was renamed Northampton in 1642. In 1663 Northampton was divided into two counties and the northern half got back its original name,but spelled Accomac. Temporarily abolished, 1670, restored 1673. It was renamed Accomack County in 1940. Accomack county was named for the Native American word Accawmack, meaning "on the other side", referencing the county's position across Chesapeake Bay.

Accomack County is bordered by Somerset County, Maryland (northwest), Worcester County, Maryland (northeast), Northampton County (south), Middlesex County (west), Lancaster County (west), Northumberland County (west).

Accomack County Cities and Towns include Accomac, Belle Haven, Bloxom, Chincoteague, Hallwood, Keller, Melfa, Onancock, Onley, Painter, Parksley, Saxis, Tangier and Wachapreague

Accomack County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Accomack County, VA Courthouse
Accomack County, VA Courthouse

The Accomack County Courthouse is located in Accomac, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Accomack County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Accomack County, Virginia Census Records

Accomack County, Virginia Vital Records

Accomack County, Virginia Resources

Accomack County, Virginia External Links