Northumberland County, Virginia Genealogy Guide2016-05-19T16:38:38+00:00

Northumberland County, Virginia Genealogy Guide

Northumberland County, Virginia (Map It) was created in 1648 from the Chickacoan District. Although not authorized until 1648, Northumberland was in use by about 1645. Northumberland county was named for Northumberland, United Kingdom.. Learn More About State of Virginia History

Northumberland County is bordered by Lancaster County (south), Richmond County (southwest), Westmoreland County (northwest) .

Northumberland County Cities and Towns include Kilmarnock, Burgess, Callao, Fairport, Fleeton, Heathsville, Lake, Lottsburg, Reedville, Wicomico Church .

Northumberland County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Northumberland County, VA Courthouse
Northumberland County, VA Courthouse

The Northumberland County Courthouse is located in Heathsville, Virginia. Learn More About State of Virginia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH .  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Northumberland County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records. Suffered some loss in a fire in the clerk's office on 25 October 1710. Birth and Death Records from 1650-1810 located in the St. Stephens Parish.

  • Northumberland County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1735, Land Records from 1650, Court Records from 1652 and Probate Records from 1650. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Northumberland County Health Department
  • County and City Research in Virginia Guides and Indexes County and city records document the daily activities of the courts in Virginia's counties, independent cities, and towns. The Library of Virginia houses both original and microfilm records for many of Virginia's counties and independent cities. The guides list will help researchers navigate the complex variety of county and city records in the Library's collections. It includes County and City Records at the Library of Virginia, Using County and City Court Records, Chancery Cases, Judgments, Lost Records Localities database and Burned Jurisdiction database.

Northumberland County, Virginia Census Records

Northumberland County, Virginia Vital Records

Northumberland County, Virginia Resources

Northumberland County, Virginia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records