Lane County, Oregon Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T17:36:53+00:00

Lane County, Oregon Genealogy Guide

Lane County, Oregon (Map It) was created on January 29, 1851 from the southern part of Linn County and that portion of Benton County that was east of Umpqua County. The county was named in honor of Gen. Joseph Lane (1801–1881), the first governor of Oregon Territory. Learn More About State of Oregon History.

Lane County is bordered by Lincoln County (northwest), Benton County (north), Linn County (northeast), Douglas County (south), Deschutes County (east), Klamath County (southeast).

Lane County Cities and Towns include Coburg, Cottage Grove, Creswell, Dunes City, Eugene, Florence, Junction City, Lowell, Oakridge, Springfield, Veneta, Westfir. A Map of Lane County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lane County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Lane County, Oregon Courthouse
Lane County, OR Courthouse

The Lane County Courthouse is located in Eugene, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lane county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lane County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1852 and Land Records from 1854. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Lane County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1852 and Probate Records from 1852. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Lane County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Lane County, Oregon Census Records

Lane County, Oregon Vital Records

Lane County, Oregon Resources

Lane County, Oregon External Links

Search Millions of Military Records