Lincoln County, Oregon Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T17:37:49+00:00

Lincoln County, Oregon Genealogy Guide

Lincoln County, Oregon (Map It) was created on February 20, 1893 from the western portion of Benton County and Polk County. The county was named in honor of Abraham Lincoln (1809 - 1865), sixteenth President of the United States. Learn More About State of Oregon History.

Lincoln County is bordered by Tillamook County (north), Polk County (northeast), Benton County (east), Lane County (southeast).

Lincoln County Cities and Towns include Depoe Bay, Lincoln City, Newport, Siletz, Toledo, Waldport, Yachats. A Map of Lincoln County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lincoln County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Lincoln County, Oregon Courthouse
Lincoln County, OR Courthouse

The Lincoln County Courthouse is located in Newport, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lincoln county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lincoln County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1893 and Land Records from 1865. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Lincoln County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1867 and Probate Records from 1855. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Lincoln County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Lincoln County, Oregon Census Records

Lincoln County, Oregon Vital Records

Lincoln County, Oregon Resources

Lincoln County, Oregon External Links

Search Millions of Military Records