Deschutes County, Oregon Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T17:32:14+00:00

Deschutes County, Oregon Genealogy Guide

Deschutes County, Oregon (Map It) was created on December 13, 1916 from southern part of Crook County. The county was named for the word "Riviere des Chutes", French for "River of the Falls". Learn More About State of Oregon History.

Deschutes County is bordered by Jefferson County (north), Crook County (east), Harney County (southeast), Klamath County (south), Lake County (south), Lane County (west), Linn County (northwest).

Deschutes County Cities and Towns include Bend, La Pine, Redmond. A Map of Deschutes County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Deschutes County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Deschutes County, Oregon Courthouse
Deschutes County, OR Courthouse

The Deschutes County Courthouse is located in Bend, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Deschutes county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Deschutes County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1916 and Land Records from 1869. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Deschutes County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1916 and Probate Records from 1883. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Deschutes County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Deschutes County, Oregon Census Records

Deschutes County, Oregon Vital Records

Deschutes County, Oregon Resources

Deschutes County, Oregon External Links

Search Millions of Military Records