Lake County, Oregon Genealogy Guide2016-06-07T17:36:30+00:00

Lake County, Oregon Genealogy Guide

Lake County, Oregon (Map It) was created on October 24, 1874 from the southern part of Wasco County and the eastern part of Jackson County (Land added from Grant County in 1885). The county was named for the Numerous lakes and hot springs. . Learn More About State of Oregon History.

Lake County is bordered by Deschutes County (north), Klamath County (west), Harney County (east), Modoc County, California (south), Washoe County, Nevada (south).

Lake County Cities and Towns include Lakeview, Paisley. A Map of Lake County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lake County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Lake County, Oregon Courthouse
Lake County, OR Courthouse

The Lake County Courthouse is located in Lakeview, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lake county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lake County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1875 and Land Records from 1870. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Lake County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1875 and Probate Records from 1874. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Lake County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Lake County, Oregon Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Oregon Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • Territory & State Population Schedules: 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905.
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: 1880
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Lake County, Oregon Vital Records

Lake County, Oregon Resources

Lake County, Oregon External Links

Search Millions of Military Records