Rockingham County, New Hampshire Genealogy Guide2016-06-17T21:28:04+00:00

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Genealogy Guide

Rockingham County, New Hampshire (Map It) was created on March 19, 1771 as one of the five original counties identified for New Hampshire in 1769. The county was named in honor of Charles Watson-Wentworth, 2nd Marquess of Rockingham (1730-1782), a two-time Prime Minister of Great Britain (1765-1766, 1782). It was first settled by Europeans moving north from the Plymouth Colony in Massachusetts as early as 1623. The government was linked tightly with Massachusetts until New Hampshire became a separate colony in 1679, but counties weren't introduced until 1769. Learn More About State of New Hampshire History

Rockingham County is bordered by Strafford County (north), York County, Maine (northeast), Essex County, Massachusetts (south), Hillsborough County (west), Merrimack County (northwest).

Rockingham County Cities and Towns include Atkinson, Auburn, Brentwood, Candia, Chester, Danville, Deerfield, Derry, East Kingston, Epping, Exeter, Fremont, Greenland, Hampstead, Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Kingston, Londonderry, New Castle, Newfields, Newington, Newmarket, Newton, North Hampton, Northwood, Nottingham, Plaistow, Portsmouth, Raymond, Rye, Salem, Sandown, Seabrook, South Hampton, Stratham, Windham.

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Courthouse Records

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Courthouse
Rockingham County, NH Courthouse

The Rockingham County Courthouse is located in Brentwood, New Hampshire. Learn More About State of New Hampshire Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Rockingham county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Census Records

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Vital Records

Rockingham County, New Hampshire Resources

Rockingham County, New Hampshire External Links

Search Millions of Military Records