Lander County, Nevada Genealogy Guide2016-06-17T22:07:58+00:00

Lander County, Nevada Genealogy Guide

Lander County, Nevada (Map It) was created on December 19, 1862 as an original county in the Nevada Territory. The county was named in honor of Frederick W. Lander (1821–1862), an American Civil War general and developer of the area.. Learn More About State of Nevada History

Lander County is bordered by Elko County (north), Eureka County (east), Nye County (south), Churchill County (west), Pershing County (west), Humboldt County (northwest).

Lander County Cities and Towns include Austin, Battle Mountain, Galena, Kingston, Pittsburg, Rixie. A Map of Lander County, Nevada contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lander County, Nevada Courthouse Records

Lander County, Nevada Courthouse
Lander County, NV Courthouse

The Lander County Courthouse is located in Battle Mountain, Nevada. Learn More About State of Nevada Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lander county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Lander County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1887 and Land Records from 1862. The County Recorder  is responsible for the recordation, scanning/microfilming, indexing and permanent storage of all Real Estate Transactions, Mining Claim Locations, Assessment work, Contracts, Leases, Judgments, Marriage Certificates, Fixture Filing Statements, Liens, Maps and all other Miscellaneous Documents. 
  • Lander County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1863. The County Clerk is responsible for the issuance of all marriage licenses in the County.
  • Lander County Clerk of District Court has Probate Records from 1862 and Court Records from 1862. The County Clerk of District Court has jurisdiction over all Regular, Civil, Criminal, Probate, and Family courts.

Lander County, Nevada Census Records

Lander County, Nevada Vital Records

Lander County, Nevada Resources

Lander County, Nevada External Links

Search Millions of Military Records