Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy Guide2016-06-17T22:05:33+00:00

Churchill County, Nevada Genealogy Guide

Churchill County, Nevada (Map It) was created on November 25, 1861 as an original county in the Nevada Territory. The county was named in honor of Sylvester Churchill (1783–1862), a general in the Mexican–American War.. Learn More About State of Nevada History

Churchill County is bordered by Lyon County (west), Washoe County (north), Pershing County (north), Lander County (east), Nye County (south), Mineral County (south).

Churchill County Cities and Towns include Dixie Valley, Eastgate, Fallon, Fallon Station, Hazen, Lahontan, Middlegate, Nevada City, Salt Wells, Stillwater, White Cloud City. A Map of Churchill County, Nevada contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Churchill County, Nevada Courthouse Records

Churchill County, Nevada Courthouse
Churchill County, NV Courthouse

The Churchill County Courthouse is located in Fallon, Nevada. Learn More About State of Nevada Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Churchill county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Churchill County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1888 /1885 and Land Records from 1864. The County Recorder  is responsible for the recordation, scanning/microfilming, indexing and permanent storage of all Real Estate Transactions, Mining Claim Locations, Assessment work, Contracts, Leases, Judgments, Marriage Certificates, Fixture Filing Statements, Liens, Maps and all other Miscellaneous Documents. 
  • Churchill County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1864. The County Clerk is responsible for the issuance of all marriage licenses in the County.
  • Churchill County Clerk of District Court has Probate Records from 1904 and Court Records from 1904. The County Clerk of District Court has jurisdiction over all Regular, Civil, Criminal, Probate, and Family courts.

Churchill County, Nevada Census Records

Churchill County, Nevada Vital Records

Churchill County, Nevada Resources

Churchill County, Nevada External Links

Search Millions of Military Records