Newton County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:19:42+00:00

Newton County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Newton County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 25 1836 from Neshoba County. The county was named in honor of Isaac Newton, English scientist . Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Newton County is bordered by Neshoba County (north), Lauderdale County (east), Jasper County (south) and Scott County (west).

Newton County Cities and Towns include Newton, Chunky, Decatur, Hickory.

A Map of Newton County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Newton County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Newton County, Mississippi Courthouse
Newton County, MS Courthouse

The Newton County Courthouse is located in Decatur, Mississippi. The County Courthouse was detroyed by fire in 1877 and in 1910, Most records were destroyed in 1877. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Newton county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Newton County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1876, Probate Records from 1876 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Newton County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1872 and Court Records from 1876. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Newton County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Newton County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Newton County, Mississippi Census Records

Newton County, Mississippi Vital Records

Newton County, Mississippi Resources

Newton County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records