Neshoba County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide2016-06-22T17:19:22+00:00

Neshoba County, Mississippi Genealogy Guide

Neshoba County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Jones County, Madison County, Rankin County and Wayne County. The county was namedfor the Native American word for "gray wolf". Learn More About State of Mississippi History

Neshoba County is bordered by Winston County (north), Kemper County (east), Newton County (south) and Leake County (west).

Neshoba County Cities and Towns include Philadelphia, Union.

A Map of Neshoba County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Neshoba County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Neshoba County, Mississippi Courthouse
Neshoba County, MS Courthouse

The Neshoba County Courthouse is located in Philadelphia, Mississippi. A fire in December 1887 destroyed some county records. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Neshoba county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Neshoba County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1835, Probate Records from 1837 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Neshoba County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1877 and Court Records from 1859. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Neshoba County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Neshoba County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Neshoba County, Mississippi Census Records

Neshoba County, Mississippi Vital Records

Neshoba County, Mississippi Resources

Neshoba County, Mississippi External Links

Search Millions of Military Records