Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy Guide2016-07-03T14:36:26+00:00

Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy Guide

Fayette County, Georgia (Map It) was created on May 15, 1821 from Creek Cession of 1821. Portions of Fayette County were used to create the following counties: DeKalb County (1822), Campbell County (1828), Spalding County (1851), and Clayton County (1858). Fayette County was named in honor of Gilbert du Motier, marquis de Lafayette (1757 - 1834), a French hero of the Revolutionary War. Learn More About State of Georgia History.

Fayette County is bordered by   Fulton County (north), Clayton County (east), Spalding County (south), Coweta County (west)

A Map of Fayette County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Fayette County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Fayette County, Georgia Courthouse
Fayette County, GA Courthouse

The Fayette County Courthouse is located in Fayetteville, Georgia. Learn More About State of Georgia Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fayette county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Fayette County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1823 and Court Records from 1823. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county. Be aware that Lands were given to Georgia citizens by lotteries for the years 1820, 1821, 1827, 1832, 1832 (Gold), 1833.
  • Fayette County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1823 and Probate Records from 1823.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Fayette County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Fayette County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Fayette County, Georgia Census Records

Fayette County, Georgia Vital Records

Fayette County, Georgia Resources

Fayette County, Georgia External Links

Search Millions of Military Records