Walworth County, Wisconsin Genealogy Guide2016-05-12T15:19:01+00:00

Walworth County, Wisconsin Genealogy Guide

Walworth County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on December 7, 1836 from Milwaukee County. The county was named in honor of Reuben Hyde Walworth (1788-1867), jurist from New York. Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

Walworth County is bordered by Waukesha County (northeast), Racine County (east), Kenosha County (east), McHenry County, Illinois (southeast), Boone County, Illinois (southwest), Rock County (west), Jefferson County (northwest).

Walworth County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Burlington, Delavan, Elkhorn, Lake Geneva, Whitewater, Bloomfield, Darien, Delavan, East Troy, Geneva, La Grange, Lafayette, Linn, Lyons, Richmond, Sharon, Spring Prairie, Sugar Creek, Troy, Walworth, Whitewater, Darien, East Troy, Fontana-on-Geneva Lake, Genoa City, Mukwonago, Sharon, Walworth, Williams Bay.

A Map of Walworth County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Walworth County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

Walworth County, WI Courthouse

The Walworth County Courthouse is located in Elkhorn, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.Walworth County was attached to Racine County for county and judicial purposes from 1836–38. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Walworth county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered.

  • Walworth County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1872, Marriage Records from 1839, Death Records from 1872 and Land Records from 1839. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Walworth County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1839. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Walworth County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1840. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Walworth County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Walworth County, Wisconsin Census Records

Walworth County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Walworth County, Wisconsin Resources

Walworth County, Wisconsin External Links

Search Millions of Military Records