Gaston County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide2016-06-12T18:58:35+00:00

Gaston County, North Carolina Genealogy Guide

Gaston County, North Carolina (Map It) was created on December 21, 1846 from Lincoln County. This county was named for William Gaston (1778–1844), a United States Congressman and justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. Learn More About State of North Carolina History.

Gaston County is bordered by Lincoln County (north), Mecklenburg County (east), York County, South Carolina (south), Cleveland County (west).

Gaston County Cities and Towns include Alexis, Belmont, BessemerCity, Cherryville, Cramerton, Dallas, Dellview, Gastonia, HighShoals, Lowell, McAdenville, MountHolly, Ranlo, SpencerMountain, Stanley. A Map of Gaston County, North Carolina contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Gaston County Townships include Cherryville, Crowders Mountain, Dallas, Gastonia, Riverbend, and South Point. View a Map of Gaston County Townships.

Gaston County, North Carolina Courthouse Records

Gaston County, North Carolina Courthouse
Gaston County, NC Courthouse

Old Gaston County Courthouse

The Gaston County Courthouse is located in Gastonia, North Carolina. Learn More About State of North Carolina Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gaston county. The date listed for each category of record is usually the earliest registration filed. The earliest date does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually registered. Also see the Gaston County Records in the North Carolina State Archives. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1874 by fire

  • Gaston County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from ?, Marriage Records from 1848, Death Records from ? and Land Records from 1846. The Register of Deeds holds land and vital records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Land records may include deeds, grants, plats, and other miscellaneous items. houses most birth and death records and marriage licenses.
  • Gaston County Clerk of Court has Probate Records from 1839, Court Records from 1847 and Divorce Records from call court clerk for details. The County Clerk of Court holds probate records and court records if they have not been transferred to the state archives in Raleigh. Probate records include not only wills, but also loose estates records. Court records may include apprentice bonds, bastardy bonds, and officials' or constables' bonds in addition to dockets, fee and account books, and court minutes and orders. They also have Divorce Records.
  • Gaston County Tax Assessor / Collector
  • Gaston Co. North Carolina County Health Department

Gaston County, North Carolina Census Records

Gaston County, North Carolina Vital Records

Gaston County, North Carolina Resources

Gaston County, North Carolina External Links

Search Millions of Military Records