St. Lawrence County, New York Records

St. Lawrence County, New York (Map It) was created on 1802 from Clinton County, Herkimer County and Montgomery County. The county was named for the St Lawrence River, which forms the northern border of the county and New York State .

St. Lawrence County is bordered by Jefferson County (west),Franklin County (east), Lewis County (south), Herkimer County (south), Hamilton County (south),Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry United Counties, Ontario and Leeds and Grenville United Counties, Ontario (north), Leeds and Grenville United Counties, Ontario (west).

St. Lawrence County Cities and Towns include Brasher (town), Brasher Falls-Winthrop, Canton (village), Canton (town), Clare (town), Clifton (town), Colton (town), De Kalb (town), De Peyster (town), Edwards (town), Edwards (village), Fine (town), Fowler (town), Gouverneur (village), Gouverneur (town), Hammond (town), Hammond (village), Hermon (town), Hermon (village), Heuvelton (village), Hopkinton (town), Lawrence (town), Lisbon (town), Louisville (town), Macomb (town), Madrid (town), Massena (village), Massena (town), Morristown (town), Morristown (village), Norfolk (town), Norwood (village), Ogdensburg (city), Oswegatchie (town), Parishville (town), Piercefield (town), Pierrepont (town), Pitcairn (town), Potsdam (village), Potsdam (town), Rensselaer Falls (village), Richville (village), Rossie (town), Russell (town), Star Lake, Stockholm (town), Waddington (town), Waddington (village).

St. Lawrence County, New York Courthouse Records

St. Lawrence County, New York Courthouse
St. Lawrence County, NY Courthouse

The St. Lawrence County Courthouse is located in Canton, New York. Also contact local Town Clerks. They are responsible for vast amounts of local information from deeds, property transfers, and genealogical materials. Research on place and road names, the history of property transfers and much more are available through your Town Clerk. They are a tremendous resources. Learn More About State of New York Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in St. Lawrence county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • St. Lawrence County Clerk has Land Records from 1802, Court Records from 1802 and Naturalization Records. State court naturalization records remain in custody of the county clerks. Older court naturalization records have been transferred to the National Archives--Northeast Region. The County Clerk is the keeper of most civil and criminal trial court records for Supreme Court and County Court, naturalizations, marriages (1908–35), censuses (Some county clerks' offices hold duplicate copies of some of the State censuses taken periodically between 1825 and 1925 and copies of the federal census), as well as deeds and mortgages.
  • St. Lawrence County Surrogate Court Clerk has Probate Records from 1803. The County Surrogate Court Clerk maintain records of wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and decrees, and appointments of guardians; and filed papers, including original wills, petitions for probate (gives date of death and lists next of kin), performance bonds, property inventories (seldom found after ca. 1900), administrator's or executor's accountings, etc. Surrogate's Courts create comprehensive indexes to records and files.
  • St. Lawrence County Treasurer is responsible for the collection of taxes.
  • St. Lawrence County Historian maintains archival holdings for virtually every facet of the county’s history. In New York State, every municipality (town, city, village, county) must have an appointed historian. Most of the towns have their own historians as well and each can be contacted. The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

St. Lawrence County, New York Census Records

St. Lawrence County, New York Vital Records

St. Lawrence County, New York Resources

St. Lawrence County, New York External Links